I can (almost) see clearly now

7 Sep

The rain let up sooner than expected, some time last night while everyone slept – everyone except for me. I had it all planned out, I would take a nap, wake up, go to my cousin’s show, sleep. It was a brilliant plan. Of course every brilliant plan is an ingenius set up for disaster. Turns out the venue cancelled Rory’s show due to the rain (it was pouring pretty hard around 8PM or so)… and I woke up from my nap around midnight, slightly later than planned.

So instead of going out, I meandered about my apartment musing at the picturesque world I live in without my glasses: there are no fine lines or hard edges. It was like living in an oil painting. I read a few chapters “Theories of Two Dimensional Design” and made the best ginger salmon I’ve ever had. Finally when the sun began to cast shadows across my oil painting, I decided it would probably be a good idea to go to bed.

This afternoon when I woke the sun was shining brilliantly and families were in the park enjoying the sudden change in weather and shopping at the Farmer’s Market. I decided to brave the world without my contacts and was instantly reminded why I preferred to sing my recitals without them. 

Walking around without my glasses or contacts in and trying to interact with people I can’t see was one of the most interesting experiences I’ve had in a while now that I have become accustomed to seeing. It wasn’t always this way though. I can recall grade school basketball and identifying my “man” by how the light cast shadows on the player’s face, or how her jersey was tucked, etc. I also remember shooting… at a box. It was usually easier for me to play at old gyms which still had painted white wooden backgrounds with a red backboard box. The glass backboards were okay, but my aim was always a little off at first.

But that was back when I only wore my glasses in class and let the world blur for everything else. I enjoy seeing the individual leaves on trees and the expressions on people’s faces as they speak and react – but I’ve just got to get into the routine of sticking plastic lenses into my eyes before I’ve really woken up.

Leave a Reply

