Soap Suds

9 Sep

It was another lazy day today. I followed up on some leads for Still Time- I’m waiting on a few album reviews to come back to me and I’ve booked them a solid row of gigs in Northern California for mid October. Now we’re trying to settle and find openers for the shows.

I had a setback the other day though. Dan said he wanted to play at the Boardwalk in Sacramento. It’s one of the two all ages venues in town (and the other isn’t really “in town”). I got Still Time a gig there. It was a free day. October 16. So I call up Paul and tell him the good news, except that Paul tells me that Still Time is opening for Jackie Greene at the Downtown Brew in San Luis Obispo on October 16. Really!? What!? Man, pick up the phone and call me. They should know that when I say I’m going to do something… I’m going to do it! 

Keep me informed. That’s all I ask. It’s not too hard. In fact technology is making it way too easy. A simple call from a cell phone, better yet a text message: got gig oct 16. That’s all it had to be. Or an email, or an instant message… facebook post, myspace comment, hi5… the list goes on. 

Now I could continue this rant… but I’ll save it for another night when I don’t have soap suds to address.

So it was a lazy day… and I decided to be the good roommate and run the dishwasher. I stacked the dishes up, set the dial, turned on the clean cycle, and walked away. Time passed by as I worked in my room, and soon Katie came home from classes. Her arrival jolted me back to reality and I remembered that there were dishes to be put away. 

I went to the kitchen. It was like a scene out of a movie.

The entire floor was covered in soap suds and they were foaming out of the bottom of the dishwasher. I hopped  into the fray and grabbed a bowl to catch the suds, but the damage was already done. I was wading in an ocean. 

I let Katie call the maintenance crew, while I raced to the drug store to get a mop. When I got back, Katie let me know that the maintenance crew couldn’t help us, that they don’t work with appliances. So I was on my own. Armed with a mop, I went for a swim.

It took me a while to finally get rid of all the rogue soap suds that had drifted underneath the stove and refrigerator, but afterwards our kitchen was sparkling clean. The floor was imaculate. It was awesome.

The Katies wonder whether or not we should keep using the dishwasher. I tell them why not. I don’t mind a clean kitchen floor.

One Response to “Soap Suds”

  1. David September 9, 2008 at 9:44 am #

    Hey, if the glass is half full… Put it in a smaller glass! Thanks for the laugh 🙂

Leave a Reply

