Moving UP

19 Sep

Thursday was a great day. I was up before the sun and met my cousin Jimmy first thing for breakfast at Ess-a-Bagel. I haven’t seen him in a while and it was just nice to catch up with him and spend some quality time with family.

After breakfast I went back to the apartment. I spent my time listening to the two CDs I’ll be reviewing soon. But since I had only gotten a couple hours of sleep, after my first listen through, I decided to take a nap so as to be lively for my interview with Underground Productions.

UP is a 4 year old opera production company funded by a Fractured Arts, a local non-profit. Under the artistic and executive direction of Gina Crusco and the hard work and commitment of the artists involved, UP has grown into quite a reputable operation. Gina’s vision is to incorporate in hopes of applying for state and federal grants. 

There is something about smaller, independent companies that I find intriguing. Their social make-up and the communites that their visions foster. I love being a part of it. I suppose its the transparency- the ability to trace an idea as it becomes an action as it becomes a result. The fact that UP has yet to build its infrastructure also interests me. It will be quite an experience to see and be a part of Gina’s vision realized.

I have a meeting on Monday to formalize my role for my next few months at UP. There are so many things that can be done. that must be done, that will be done within the next year. I will move UP.

One Response to “Moving UP”

  1. omalone1 November 30, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

    December 1st today and yet, so many thoughts about the next year

Leave a Reply

