I found Jesus…

22 Mar

sitting across the street from baggage claim and holding a Cross-Cultural Solutions sign, when I arrived in Costa Rica last Sunday.

A charming person, but we quickly discovered that neither of us was looking for the other, so we kept each other company and chatted while we waited for the ones we were expecting to find. Apparently, Jesus is the driver for CCS in San Carlos. He said it’s much prettier in San Carlos and that I should go their instead of Cartago. I said, “Next time.”

Jesus found who he was looking for, maybe half an hour later or so. They looked like a dad and his two sons, all bright-eyed and ready to spend spring break volunteering. Jesus assured me that the driver for Cartago had just arrived and waved to me with a smile as he led the three kings into the parking lot behind me.

Just as I was told, Allan, the driver for Cartago came walking up from the parking lot and told me that I’d be waiting for 3 more people to arrive before we left for the homebase. So I kept seated and he meandered off towards the Arrivals sign. The first to arrive was Ella from Minnesota, taking some time to volunteer during her gap year. Then Francesco from Italy, but currently living in Florida. And last but not least, Lydia from Greece. By the time Lydia arrived, I had waited outside the airport for a little over 3 hours.

Allan led us to the CCS van and handed us our welcome notes. Francesco read the bullet point list aloud as we sped out of the parking lot and made our way to Cartago. I tried to stay awake and alert, but drifted off to sleep once everyone had introduced themselves and the van became quite.

We arrived in Cartago a while before dinner, but just after the Insight Orientation, which Francesco and I were supposed to attend. But Jose, the CCS Country Director, assured us that all was well and that we would attend orientation with the Core volunteers on Monday morning instead. So, I unpacked and upon seeing that two of the three bottom bunk beds were taken, took a top bunk bed, and met my roommates: Bonnie, Joanie, and, my van buddy, Lydia. I was the baby of our group. The rage of ages and experiences in the room reminded me of my trip to India.

Dinner was scrumptious and I was able to see most of the volunteers who would be living at the homestead. Ella and I sat at the same table and another Core volunteer, Andrew joined us. He was volunteering for a total of 10 weeks, and this past week was his 5th one. It turned out that Andrew was volunteering at la Casa de Doña Melba as well, and he had nothing but good things to say about the placement.

I was very tired from not sleeping the night before and all my travels, so shortly after dinner I climbed up to my bed. Breakfast would be served from 6:30am – 7:00am, so I set my alarm for 5:20 to give myself enough time to shower and relax before starting the day. I assured my roommates that they could talk and leave the light on; and within moments of resting my head on my pillow, I was out.

☼ Domingo (I found Jesus…) ☼ Lunes ☼ Martes ☼ Miercoles ☼ Jueves ☼ Viernes

5 Responses to “I found Jesus…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ask the leadership coach » I found Jesus… « v’s weblog - March 24, 2009

    […] peebles posted a noteworthy aricle today onHere’s a small snippetJesus found who he was looking for, maybe half an hour later or so. They looked like a dad and his two sons, all bright-eyed and ready to spend spring break volunteering. Jesus assured me that the driver for Cartago had just arrived and … […]

  2. Martes « v’s weblog - March 24, 2009

    […] I found Jesus… […]

  3. Miercoles « v’s weblog - March 26, 2009

    […] I found Jesus… […]

  4. Jueves « v’s weblog - March 26, 2009

    […] Domingo (I found Jesus…) ☼ Lunes ☼ Martes ☼ […]

  5. Viernes « v’s weblog - March 26, 2009

    […] ☼ Domingo (I found Jesus…) ☼ Lunes ☼ Martes ☼ Miercoles ☼ Jueves ☼ Viernes […]

Leave a Reply

